Organizers have announced the first 16 of 12,000 torch bearers for the next Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. They will start on May 3 to take the flame from Brasilia to the Opening Ceremony at the Maracana Stadium on Aug.5.

All picks are Brazilians, including volleyball double Olympic champion Fabiana, Olympic medalists Adriana Behar (beach volleyball), Isabel Swan (sailing) and Gustavo Borges (swimming) and three-time Wimbledon champion Maria Bueno.

Winner of six Paralympic gold medals, swimmer Clodoaldo Silva will also be involved.

Rio 2016 has informed that the first person to hold the flame in Brazil could be announced later on.

The traditional flame lighting ceremony will take place in Olympia, in Greece, on Apr.21.

The relay will visit 329 towns and cities in Brazil over 95 days.