Missy Franklin won the 100-meter backstroke Sunday to close an up-and-down weekend at the Longhorn Elite Invitational, and Michael Phelps skipped the final in his last event.

Franklin had also easily won the 200 backstroke and twice finished second to Allison Schmitt in the Austin, Texas, event. She finished with a time of 1 minute, 0.50 seconds in the 100 on Sunday.

Phelps was a scratch in the 200-meter individual medley final, his fourth event. He was fifth in the preliminaries with a time of 2:05.89.

The 18-time Olympic gold medalist won the 100 freestyle Friday, but was fourth in the 200 free and second in the 100 butterfly.

Top swimmers also were competing in Arena Pro Swim Series events in Indianapolis and Santa Clara, California. The Olympic Trials run from June 26-July 3 in Omaha, Nebraska.

Caitlin Leverenz, the 2012 bronze medalist, came from behind to win the women's 200 IM in California in 2:11.65.

"I've been working on my freestyle so I was definitely charging home in that race," Leverenz said. "I'm looking to fine-tune some things and get ready to race (at Trials)."

Conor Dwyer and Katie Ledecky won the Arena Pro Swim Series points titles. For the third straight year, Dwyer earned a $10,000 series championship bonus from USA Swimming.

Dwyer won eight events during the series, while Ledecky won a total of 10 races.

At Indy, three National Team members won their third events of the weekend Sunday.

Melanie Margalis took the 200 individual medley in 2:11.25. Jay Litherland came from behind to win the men's 200 IM in 1:59.93. Leah Smith's time of 8:24.87 gave her the 800 freestyle title.

Olympian Connor Jaeger won the 1,500 freestyle to follow up a 400 freestyle win.

In California, Australia's Jessica Ashwood's time of 8:18.14 in the 800 freestyle was the year's second- fastest time in the world.

Brazil's Thiago Pereira won the men's 200 IM in 1:57.77, the third-best time in the 2016 world rankings.